Statute 19-2-108(3)(a) requires sources to pay the applicable permitting fees for work performed during the NSR permitting process. The types of fees that are collected are required as pre-payment when submitted with the application and will be required before the application is processed. Listed below are a breakdown of the fees.
Payments can be made online at: https://secure.utah.gov/cart/daq_cart/products.html
or Checks should be made payable to:
State of Utah, Division of Air Quality
195 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
|Source Type||Filing Fee||Review Fee||Total Prepaid Fees||Base Hours|
|New Major PSD with a Major source in nonattainment area||$5,000.00||$49,500.00||$54,500.00||Up to 450|
|New non-PSD Major Source in nonattainment area or Major Modification in nonattainment area||$500.00||$49,500.00||$50,000.00||Up to 450|
|New Major PSD Source||$5,000.00||$33,000.00||$38,000.00||Up to 300|
|New Non PSD Major source in attainment area or Modifications to Major source in attainment area||$500.00||$33,000.00||$33,500.00||Up to 300|
|New Minor Source or Minor Modification at Minor or Major Source||$500.00||$2,200.00||$2,700.00||Up to 20|
|Any unpermitted sources at an existing facility||$1,500.00||$2,200.00||$3,700.00||Up to 20|
|Administrative Amendments||$500.00||$500.00||Hours worked|
|Generic permit for minor source or modifications of minor sources (source for which engineering review/BACT standardized)||$500.00||$880.00||$1380.00||Up to 8|
|Name Changes||$100.00||$110.00 per hour||$100.00||*|
|Small Sources Exemptions||$250.00||$110.00 per hour||$250.00||*|
|Soil Remediation||$250.00||$110.00 per hour||$250.00||*|
|Source Determination Letters||$250.00||$110.00 per hour||$250.00||*|
|Temporary Relocations||$770.00||$770.00||Up to 7|
|Sales/Use Tax Exemptions||$110.00 per hour|
|PERMIT BY RULE Registration|
|Control not Required||$250.00|
|Minor sources (new or modified) with <3 tpy uncontrolled emissions||$500.00||$500.00||Up to 5|
|Permitting cost per hour for additional hours over base review hours||$110.00||1 hour|
|Permitting cost per hour||$110.00||1 hour|
|Technical review of and assistance given (per hour)||$110.00||1 hour|
*Cost of fees updated July 1, 2021
* Remaining amount to be billed upon project completion
- The filing Fee is non-refundable.
- The fees for work being done on an hourly rate will be billed when the project is complete.
- Maintenance or non-attainment areas: Box Elder County, Cache County, Davis County, Duchesne County, Salt Lake County, Tooele County, Uintah County, Utah County, and Weber County.
- Attainment Areas are: All other permitted areas in the state
- For additional information on Attainment areas please contact For further information or questions contact Jon Black (firstname.lastname@example.org) (385) 306-6511.
- For further information or questions contact Alan Humpherys (email@example.com) (385) 306-6520.
Annual Emission Fees (Title V)
Annual emission fees are paid by companies subject to the Title V or Operating Permit Program. These companies typically have large emissions, however Title V area source emissions for smaller sources without Title V permits are also chargeable emissions. Visit the operating permit program fact sheet to see if this program may apply to your business. Companies are charged an annual emissions fee based on the amount of pollutants they emit to the air. This fee pays for the administrative cost of the Operating Permit Program. Unlike Approval Order, NOI reviews, there is no additional fee for the issuance of an operating permit, the issuance of an operating permit is included in the annual emissions fee. The fee may be adjusted annually.
The emission fee for fiscal year 2021 (July 1, 2020, through June 30, 2021) is $89.67 per ton of emissions.